CHL Blog, Part 1: Davos (In the Bleak Midwinter)

Tuesday morning in Davos: subfreezing temperatures, heavy snow and a biting westerly wind.  

 

I was beyond excited. This felt like hockey weather.

 

We normally commentate on our Champions Hockey League games from a studio in Vienna, watching games on television monitors in small, self-contained booths – “off-tube” commentary, we call it. I don’t mind being away from the action, in a comfortable routine among familiar colleagues I like and respect. But for the CHL semifinals and final, I’m travelling to each arena: Switzerland this week, Gothenburg in Sweden next week, possibly Oulu or Rauma in Finland (or Switzerland or Sweden again) for the final on 9 February. Attending the morning skate, talking with coaches and players, soaking in the live atmosphere of a big game…this is what I live for as a commentator.

Davos is the right place to come for a rich hockey atmosphere. Vaillant Arena looks and feels like the Noah’s Ark of Swiss ice hockey, its skeletal wooden ceiling at once somehow both cozy and forbidding. There’s a large open-air outdoor skating area next to the arena as well, but with a foot of snow on the ice and more falling steadily, there were no takers yesterday morning, although the adjacent outdoor hockey rink had been cleared by early evening.

 

I talked with both team’s CHL top scorers during the morning skate and was surprised to discover that Frölunda’s Ryan Lasch – who has played for eight different clubs since 2010, including three in Sweden and two in Finland – was in Switzerland for the very first time. In contrast, Davos top scorer Andres Ambühl is as Swiss as they come: soft-spoken and unassuming, but supremely confident that his team could do the job.

 

In the event, Ambühl was wrong. The game finished 5-0 to Frölunda, and it was largely a mirror image of Davos’ 4-1 second-leg win in the quarterfinals against Skellefteå: in December, everything went right for Davos, but on this January night everything went wrong. The Swiss side narrowly missed out on two goals after video review, and a third which Frölunda goalie Lars Johansson never saw was deflected by defenseman Tom Nilsson into one of Johansson’s skates and not through his five-hole. Meanwhile, Lasch got his sixth CHL goal of the season thanks to a lucky deflection off the skate of the sprawling Fabian Du Bois, while Jacob Larsson scored Frölunda’s fifth goal on a fluttering, knuckling shot which Davos goalie Leonardo Genoni somehow missed. And every 50-50 officiating call seemed to go the visitors’ way as well

 

I didn’t perform flawlessly behind the microphone, either, having initially misidentified Lasch as the scorer of Spencer Abbott’s opening goal. You tend to beat yourself up over these things as a commentator, but in general I think I adapted well to the live rink environment from my usual off-tube setting. I’m disappointed the second leg isn’t likely to be competitive, but that won’t stop me from going to Gothenburg and giving it my best shot; I only hope Davos does the same, because the great thing about hockey is that sometimes you never know what just might happen.

About Me

I cut my teeth as a sportswriter at the Harvard Crimson and have since written for Golf Digest magazine and currently serve as the golf correspondent for The American magazine. I have written two books (shown below) and also have nearly 20 years of writing and communications experience in the corporate world, including my current role as founder and head of Spectacle Communications, an independent consultancy based in the UK. And from time to time, I just like to write about this and that for fun. Is that so wrong?

 

(FYI, I also work as a sports commentator on television - check out my commentary website for more information.)


A Golfer's Education is a golfing memoir of my year as a student at the University of St. Andrews - it was published by Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill in 2001.

Do You Want Total War? is my novel about a typical high school student with an atypical hobby: playing boardgames which simulate World War II in Europe.

Spectacle Communications helps your corporate messaging make the right impression with your audience by working to make your presentations, documents, speeches and videos look and sound great.